top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFidela Jacobo

A FREELANCING MOM, IS IT WORTH THE EFFORT?

Updated: Jun 27, 2021

I never really know what motherhood is until I became one at the age of 33. Being a mother of two kids I think is a much tougher job than being a teacher to many students. The most surprising thing about motherhood is how much commitment and sacrifice it demands. But as my kids grow up, I learned to accept the full responsibility of becoming a mother to them. To love and to take good care of them without expecting anything in return. To give unconditional love and to give the best of everything and spend the most quality time with them to build beautiful memories they will never forget.




Aside from being a mother at home and a teacher at school, I took my first step of getting another career – freelancing virtual assistant when I enrolled at the online course offered by the Filipino Virtual Assistant Academy. Earning an extra cash is my main purpose to save for the future of my kids. Another purpose is to be equipped with marketable skills related to the virtual world, technology and the internet which I could probably share to my students. It is a complete stranger to me and there is no easy way for it. It needs a lot of struggle to complete the portfolios required for the training. It needs investment of time and effort to understand concepts I never met before such as keyword research, search engine optimization and social media management and marketing. It made me question myself, Will I finish the requirements and pass the initiation of becoming a freelancer?


Learn proper time management

This made me realize the importance of time management and learning the value of spending time wisely. Avoid procrastination and do the task while you can. Make a plan or prepare a to-do list so as to know works to be prioritized.


Learn to be a multi-tasker

I take good care of my kids, I prepare modules for my students and I do the tasks in the video lesson in my freelancing course. I learned to become a multitasker when I watched video tutorials of my freelancing lesson while my kids are playing or when I am washing the dishes or clothes or when I am printing modules for my students. I need to work for my portfolios at night or at dawn when my kids are asleep. I equipped myself with willingness and determination to learn new ideas as I surf on the different resources from the internet. I am half through the many portfolios and with the right attitude and focus, I know I can do it.

Whenever I feel the hardship of becoming a mother, a teacher and a freelancer, I pray to God and offer all my sacrifices to Him. I know that as I will finish the freelancing course, it will lead me to a greater hurdle of applying for a job as a freelancer but it will pave the way for another financial earning opportunities for the brighter future of my kids and a way for another precious knowledge I will readily share to my students for them to fit to the global world. As I take my journey of becoming a freelancing virtual assistant, my journey towards motherhood will come side by side and will never end. But whatever happens, I know it is worth the effort.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page